My take

Author: Dinglewood (336 Posts - Original UHND Member)
Posted at 4:08 pm on Feb 5, 2019

Don't want to defend the rule but ...

Think if you asked the folk who wrote the rule their answer would be "we don't want this type of contact to happen ... but if it does it will be a penalty."

For what is worth I look at this type of play like a punter returner trying to catch (and not fumble) the ball in traffic where in only seems logical that there be "room" before he gets hit. As with many newer rules this penalizes the D but it does reflect the general mindset that the defender has to play the ball vice the man.


Replies to: "My take"