Menu
UHND.com - Notre Dame Football, Basketball, & Recruiting UHND.com - Notre Dame Football, Basketball, & Recruiting

UHND.com - Notre Dame Football, Basketball, & Recruiting

UHND.com - Notre Dame Football, Basketball, & Recruiting UHND.com - Notre Dame Football, Basketball, & Recruiting
  • Football
    • 2024 Notre Dame Football Schedule
    • 2024 Notre Dame Roster
    • 2024 Notre Dame Coaching Staff
    • Injury News & Updates
    • Notre Dame Football Depth Charts
    • Notre Dame Point Spreads & Betting Odds
    • Notre Dame Transfers
    • NFL Fighting Irish
    • Game Archive
    • Player Archive
    • Past Seasons & Results
  • Recruiting
    • Commits
    • News & Rumors
    • Class of 2018 Commit List
    • Class of 2019 Commit List
    • Class of 2020 Commit List
    • Class of 2021 Commit List
    • Archives
  • History
    • Notre Dame Bowl History
    • Notre Dame NFL Draft History
    • Notre Dame Football ESPN GameDay History
    • Notre Dame Heisman Trophy Winners
    • Notre Dame Football National Championships
    • Notre Dame Football Rivalries
    • Notre Dame Stadium
    • Touchdown Jesus
  • Basketball
  • Forums
    • Chat Room
    • Football Forum
    • Open Forum
    • Basketball Board
    • Ticket Exchange
  • Videos
    • Notre Dame Basketball Highlights
    • Notre Dame Football Highlights
    • Notre Dame Football Recruiting Highlights
    • Notre Dame Player Highlights
    • Hype Videos
  • Latest News
  • Gear
  • About
    • Advertise With Us
    • Contact Us
    • Our RSS Feeds
    • Community Rules
    • Privacy Policy
  • RSS
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
Home > Forums > Football Message Board
Login | Register

Here's the rule and I'll try to explain it as simply as I can

Author: McIrish (5322 Posts - Original UHND Member)
Posted at 9:12 am on Nov 18, 2024
View All

Offensive Team Requirements—At the Snap
ARTICLE 4 Violation of each of the following (a-c) is a live-ball foul; the play
is allowed to continue
a Formation. At the snap Team A must be in a formation that meets these
requirements:
1 All players must be inbounds
2 All players must be either linemen or backs (Rule 2-27-4, A R 7-1
4-VIII)
3 At least five linemen must wear jerseys numbered 50 through 79
(Exception: When the snap is from a scrimmage kick formation, par
5 below )
4 No more than four players may be back

The pertinent section is that at least 5 linemen must wear jerseys numbered 50 - 79 unless the snap is from a scrimmage kick formation. ND did not have at least 5 linemen with those numbers. When Kiser got behind the center and took the snap, ND was no longer in a scrimmage kick formation so they were in violation of the rule. I imagine that the purpose of the rule is to make it easier for the defense to identify eligible receivers from ineligible receivers. We can bitch about it all we want but the call was correct.


Replies to: "Here's the rule and I'll try to explain it as simply as I can"

  • The more I think about the PR for a TD called back, the more it upsets me - IrishChristopher - 12:54am 11/18/24 (17) [View All]
    • Here's the rule and I'll try to explain it as simply as I can - McIrish - 9:12am 11/18/24
      • So they knew that one, but didn’t know the one about not recovering a bobbled fair catch until the - Frank L - 10:10am 11/18/24
        • Well, not sure about that one - McIrish - 10:55am 11/18/24
          • Kinda hard to determine that when he was hit right after muff. [NT] - Chrisb - 11:05am 11/18/24
            • He wasn't hit. The ball bounced off his shoulder pads right to the oncoming coverage guy. - McIrish - 11:10am 11/18/24
        • Exactly...just call things both ways is all I ask. [NT] - Chrisb - 10:49am 11/18/24
    • They are probably enforcing the rule correctly..the problem is - Chrisb - 9:06am 11/18/24
      • ND showed the refs the formation & the play, but not the numbering of the players in formation. [NT] - SteveM - 10:19am 11/18/24
        • yes, but as someone else posted, I had impression - cubsfanin16 - 5:35pm 11/18/24
        • Re: ND showed the refs the formation & the play, but not the numbering of the players in formation. - Chrisb - 10:48am 11/18/24
          • don't they mention 'if you do this you can't do that' No, the refs are only made aware of the play. - SteveM - 11:08am 11/18/24
          • None of us has any idea what was really discussed before the game - McIrish - 11:08am 11/18/24
    • Even if technically "right" did the penalty result in an advantage for ND? NFL don't care about #s. [LINK] - LanceManion - 7:31am 11/18/24
    • i haven’t heard the entire explanation, but the numbers thing is essential for football. [NT] - WestCoastIrishFan - 6:38am 11/18/24
    • The explanation was piss-poor. Perhaps someone here can do better. - NedoftheHill - 1:26am 11/18/24
      • MF's post game explanation wasn't all that great either. Extremely vague. [NT] - ELP - 7:54am 11/18/24
        • Could be the lack of clarity and understanding in the call lies with both sides.? [NT] - whatsamataU - 8:09am 11/18/24
Close
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • RSS