Menu
UHND.com - Notre Dame Football, Basketball, & Recruiting UHND.com - Notre Dame Football, Basketball, & Recruiting

UHND.com - Notre Dame Football, Basketball, & Recruiting

UHND.com - Notre Dame Football, Basketball, & Recruiting UHND.com - Notre Dame Football, Basketball, & Recruiting
  • Football
    • 2024 Notre Dame Football Schedule
    • 2024 Notre Dame Roster
    • 2024 Notre Dame Coaching Staff
    • Injury News & Updates
    • Notre Dame Football Depth Charts
    • Notre Dame Point Spreads & Betting Odds
    • Notre Dame Transfers
    • NFL Fighting Irish
    • Game Archive
    • Player Archive
    • Past Seasons & Results
  • Recruiting
    • Commits
    • News & Rumors
    • Class of 2018 Commit List
    • Class of 2019 Commit List
    • Class of 2020 Commit List
    • Class of 2021 Commit List
    • Archives
  • History
    • Notre Dame Bowl History
    • Notre Dame NFL Draft History
    • Notre Dame Football ESPN GameDay History
    • Notre Dame Heisman Trophy Winners
    • Notre Dame Football National Championships
    • Notre Dame Football Rivalries
    • Notre Dame Stadium
    • Touchdown Jesus
  • Basketball
  • Forums
    • Chat Room
    • Football Forum
    • Open Forum
    • Basketball Board
    • Ticket Exchange
  • Videos
    • Notre Dame Basketball Highlights
    • Notre Dame Football Highlights
    • Notre Dame Football Recruiting Highlights
    • Notre Dame Player Highlights
    • Hype Videos
  • Latest News
  • Gear
  • About
    • Advertise With Us
    • Contact Us
    • Our RSS Feeds
    • Community Rules
    • Privacy Policy
  • RSS
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
Home > Forums > Football Message Board
Login | Register
Upvote this post.
0
Downvote this post.

The more I think about the PR for a TD called back, the more it upsets me

Author: IrishChristopher (738 Posts - Joined: Sep 4, 2016)

Posted at 12:54 am on Nov 18, 2024
View Single

The refs explanation about jersey #s was lame asf, as was their brother in arms in the booth.

When did jersey #s matter especially when you can have 2 players wearing the same # as long as they're not on the field at the same time?

Faison got cheated out of a TD & one of the best plays I've ever witnessed as an ND fan.


Replies to: The more I think about the PR for a TD called back, the more it upsets me


Thread Level: 2

Here's the rule and I'll try to explain it as simply as I can

Author: McIrish (5322 Posts - Original UHND Member)

Posted at 9:12 am on Nov 18, 2024
View Single

Offensive Team Requirements—At the Snap
ARTICLE 4 Violation of each of the following (a-c) is a live-ball foul; the play
is allowed to continue
a Formation. At the snap Team A must be in a formation that meets these
requirements:
1 All players must be inbounds
2 All players must be either linemen or backs (Rule 2-27-4, A R 7-1
4-VIII)
3 At least five linemen must wear jerseys numbered 50 through 79
(Exception: When the snap is from a scrimmage kick formation, par
5 below )
4 No more than four players may be back

The pertinent section is that at least 5 linemen must wear jerseys numbered 50 - 79 unless the snap is from a scrimmage kick formation. ND did not have at least 5 linemen with those numbers. When Kiser got behind the center and took the snap, ND was no longer in a scrimmage kick formation so they were in violation of the rule. I imagine that the purpose of the rule is to make it easier for the defense to identify eligible receivers from ineligible receivers. We can bitch about it all we want but the call was correct.


Thread Level: 3

So they knew that one, but didn’t know the one about not recovering a bobbled fair catch until the

Author: Frank L (64681 Posts - Joined: Sep 20, 2007)

Posted at 10:10 am on Nov 18, 2024
View Single

ball hits the ground. Another technicality, but the rule is the rule.

Thread Level: 4

Well, not sure about that one

Author: McIrish (5322 Posts - Original UHND Member)

Posted at 10:55 am on Nov 18, 2024
View Single

The rule is if the punt returner has an opportunity to catch the kick after the muff, he must be given an unimpeded opportunity to complete the catch. The rule says nothing about the ball having to hit the ground. Only if the punt returner has an opportunity to catch it after the muff. So if the ball popped straight up in the air he would have an opportunity to catch it. If it hit him and bounced 10 yards away, he really wouldn't have an opportunity to catch that. In this particular instance, the ball rebounded off Hurleman pretty hard and the officials could have determined that he would not have been able to catch it after the muff.

Thread Level: 5

Kinda hard to determine that when he was hit right after muff.

Author: Chrisb (16401 Posts - Original UHND Member)

Posted at 11:05 am on Nov 18, 2024
View Single

(no message)

This message has been edited 1 time(s).

"Notre Dame by a million..Go Irish!" -Shane Gillis
Thread Level: 6

He wasn't hit. The ball bounced off his shoulder pads right to the oncoming coverage guy.

Author: McIrish (5322 Posts - Original UHND Member)

Posted at 11:10 am on Nov 18, 2024
View Single

Hurleman was never touched. His only contact was when he tackled the guy that caught his muff.

This message has been edited 1 time(s).

Thread Level: 4

Exactly...just call things both ways is all I ask.

Author: Chrisb (16401 Posts - Original UHND Member)

Posted at 10:49 am on Nov 18, 2024
View Single

(no message)

"Notre Dame by a million..Go Irish!" -Shane Gillis
Thread Level: 2

They are probably enforcing the rule correctly..the problem is

Author: Chrisb (16401 Posts - Original UHND Member)

Posted at 9:06 am on Nov 18, 2024
View Single

if we show them the play before the game (which blows my mind we even trust doing this) and they kick the tires on it, there should either be a 'that's a legal play' or 'we will flag that because of this rule' type determination.

So if they knew about this rule then, the good faith relationship would expect that they reveal it, since that's the reason to show them the play.

If they didn't know about it then...when was it realized? While later researching ways to 'get us'? ..or did they have the epiphany right when the play happened after drinking a red bull?

That, combined with two other things makes them seem very fishy.
1) the inequity in how OL holding was being enforced. It seemed like they were 'searching' for holding calls against us (the ones they flagged were valid) while averting their eyes from UVA holds (Mills blew by them multiple times and was openly grabbed from behind).
2) the thing that bothered me the most was when the refs went quick so UVA could get a play off before replay could review the ball they dropped that was called a catch.


This message has been edited 1 time(s).

"Notre Dame by a million..Go Irish!" -Shane Gillis
Thread Level: 3

ND showed the refs the formation & the play, but not the numbering of the players in formation.

Author: SteveM (2197 Posts - Joined: Sep 9, 2011)

Posted at 10:19 am on Nov 18, 2024
View Single

(no message)

Thread Level: 4

yes, but as someone else posted, I had impression

Author: cubsfanin16 (5500 Posts - Joined: Aug 25, 2016)

Posted at 5:35 pm on Nov 18, 2024
View Single

refs were going out of way to penalize ND and looking other way at uva, I saw jerseys held by uva
this " screwing " has. been going on far too.long from hunter being laid out in end z
one to fla st call. NDmust make this public, there's a pattern. I don't mind calls aslong as there is. consistency


Thread Level: 4

Re: ND showed the refs the formation & the play, but not the numbering of the players in formation.

Author: Chrisb (16401 Posts - Original UHND Member)

Posted at 10:48 am on Nov 18, 2024
View Single

1. How do you know this?
2. If the refs knew there was something with this play that had special number considerations, don't they mention 'if you do this you can't do that'


"Notre Dame by a million..Go Irish!" -Shane Gillis
Thread Level: 5

don't they mention 'if you do this you can't do that' No, the refs are only made aware of the play.

Author: SteveM (2197 Posts - Joined: Sep 9, 2011)

Posted at 11:08 am on Nov 18, 2024
View Single

The refs are dispassionate observers.
It is the team's responsibility to know if a play is legal.


Thread Level: 5

None of us has any idea what was really discussed before the game

Author: McIrish (5322 Posts - Original UHND Member)

Posted at 11:08 am on Nov 18, 2024
View Single

At the end of the day, the responsibility for knowing the rules lies with the coaching staff. The special teams coach should know that he subs DBs and linebackers for the big uglies for punt coverage and that they don't meet the numbering requirements if they shift out of punt formation. There are two ways that you could run that play and keep it legal. One would be to keep your linemen in for that play. The other would be to give your coverage guys uniform numbers for that play which would make it a legal formation. Of course, each of them would have to report the number change to the officials who would then notify the opposing team. Either way, if you do those things, you are pretty much tipping off the other team that something was coming.

Thread Level: 2

Even if technically "right" did the penalty result in an advantage for ND? NFL don't care about #s.

Author: LanceManion (7940 Posts - Joined: Jul 16, 2010)

Posted at 7:31 am on Nov 18, 2024
View Single

Or at least not as much as they used to.

AND was this rule enforced consistently throughout the game? Probably not.


Link: Honey badger don't give a shit

Imposing corporate abuse, neglect and greed on deserving victims.
Thread Level: 2

i haven’t heard the entire explanation, but the numbers thing is essential for football.

Author: WestCoastIrishFan (16209 Posts - Original UHND Member)

Posted at 6:38 am on Nov 18, 2024
View Single

(no message)

Thread Level: 2

The explanation was piss-poor. Perhaps someone here can do better.

Author: NedoftheHill (44670 Posts - Joined: Jun 29, 2011)

Posted at 1:26 am on Nov 18, 2024
View Single

Why the jersey numbers have to change depending on who is positioned to take the snap is beyond me. They implied that if the up man were to the side slightly, it would have been a kick formation and therefore ok. If that is the rule, the rule needs to be changed.

Evil preaches tolerance until it is dominant, then it tries to silence good.
Thread Level: 3

MF's post game explanation wasn't all that great either. Extremely vague.

Author: ELP (9578 Posts - Joined: Oct 18, 2020)

Posted at 7:54 am on Nov 18, 2024
View Single

(no message)

Thread Level: 4

Could be the lack of clarity and understanding in the call lies with both sides.?

Author: whatsamataU (25140 Posts - Original UHND Member)

Posted at 8:09 am on Nov 18, 2024
View Single

(no message)

Close
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • RSS